Stray Cat Strut - Stray Cats


  • 1 (1)
  • 3-5 (6)
  • 5-50 (2)

Sheet type

  • original (7)
  • transcription (1)

File type

  • pdf (7)
  • doc (1)


  • chords (7)
  • lyrics (7)
  • guitar (5)
11 members have this sheet
2 members want it
last added bypagesinfosheetfilelyricschordsguitar
ladoré29 (7162)4L1064originalpdf+++
12000plusman (0)4originalpdf+++
Jo Van Dijk (2828)123-Part Mixed and Piano • Discovery Pop Series arr. by Kirby Shaw ™originalpdf
Wasaga soccerman (3865)4originalpdf
carolita toscana (4443)4originalpdf
Stray Cats - Stray Cat Strut
"Stray Cat Strut" is the eighth track on the Stray Cats' debut album, Stray Cats, released in 1981 in the UK. In the US, the song was first released in 1982 on Built for Speed. The song became a hit in the US, peaking at number three on the Billboard Hot 100, over a year after it had reached its number eleven peak in the UK. The music video for the song received extensive airplay on MTV during the channel's early days.

In the October 1998 issue of Guitar World magazine, Brian Setzer's solo from Stray Cat Strut ranked #92 on the "Top 100 Guitar Solos of All Time" list. Read more

Brian Setzer later played this song with his new band, The Brian Setzer Orchestra. The band played the song during a recorded concert, and was released on "The Ultimate Collection".

This song was sampled in popular Green Day song "Hitchin' a Ride".

In 2006, the ska punk band Reel Big Fish covered the song for a compilation entitled Go Cat Go! A Tribute to Stray Cats.

It is also featured as a playable track in Guitar Hero: On Tour.

User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License and may also be available under the GNU FDL.